Musicality On The Hiatus

Musicality is on hiatus for the indefinite future. This is due partly to the program’s station in JacRadio being a student radio station. The Australian academic year has ended, and while some shows are venturing onwards over the long break, for the most part the station is on pre-programmed hibernation until the next batch of students arrive bright-eyed in O-Week.

More personally, with oncoming (quite good) happenings in my life I am unsure if I have the time in 2013. We’ll see. On the other hand I now own a laptop and am digitising my entire CD collection, so making radio may become easier.

O-Week is late February, so if I am back I’ll be back. If not, we’ll see. Meanwhile, my irregular musings can be found at One Bedraggled Boy, starting off with my ten favourite tracks of 2011.


Musicality on the Mix 2011– Episode 9

The final episode which should have gone to air three weeks ago, but due to  gremlins in the system it didn’t get to air as scheduled.

All is now fixed, so let me present jazz, though in some cases in the loosest possible terms. Ranging from prog fusion to ambient trumpet to free freakery.

Chicago Underground Duo – Green Ants from “Boca Negra” (Thrill Jockey)
Clarion Fracture Zone – Zones on Parade from “Zones On Parades” (Rufus)
Peter de Havilland – Escher from “Bois de Boulonge” (Venture)
Martin Kratochvil’s Jazz Q – Toledo from the compilation “Prog Is Nor A Four Letter Word” (Delay 68)
Dave Douglas – Eastern Parkway from “Freak In” (Bluebird)
Jon Hassell – Courage from “Fourth World, Vol 2: Dream Theory in Malaya” (EG)
Charlie Haden – Circus ’68 ’69 from “Liberation Music Orchestra” (Impulse)
Henry Cow – Came to See You from the compilation “The Road” (Recommended)
Frank Zappa – Didja Get Any Onya from “Weasels Ripped My Flesh” (Rykodisc)
Robert Wyatt – A Sunday in Madrid from Shleep” (Hannibal)

Musicality on the Mix 2011 – Episode 8

Again my apologies, but this was the episode should have gone to air three weeks ago, but gremlins got into the system.

So finally, a wide-ranging mix this week taking in ambient, 8-bit, electro-pop and David Byrne

Overseer – Meteorology from “Wreckage” (Columbia)

Mitoma – Ending from “Interstellar Debris” (Section 7)

Tricky – Yoga from “Nearly God” (Island)

The Orb – Dilmun from “Bicycles and Tricycles” (Cooking Vinyl)

Akron/Family – Cashanet (prod. Brian Eno) from “S/T II: The Cosmic Birth and Journey of Shinju TNT” (Family Tree)

Shlohmo – Just Us from “Bad Vibes” (Friends of Friends)

Leafcutter John – Palm Reader from “Tunis” (Tsuku Boshi)

Leafcutter John – Introduction in the Wrong Place from “Tunis” (Tsuku Boshi)

Banco de Gaia – Big Men Cry from “Big Men Cry” (Six Degrees)

The Juan Maclean – Everybody Get Close from an upcoming rarities compilation (DFA)

David Byrne – My Fair Lady from a Wired magazine compilation (Wired)

Cheapshot – Roopy from “ZOMG” (8bitpeople)

Caught Ship – Ground Foot from free download (Independent)

Zambri – Heather Heather Heather Heather from the EP “Glossolalia” (Kanine)

Musicality on the Mix 2011 – Episode 7

My apologies, but this was the episode should have gone to air three weeks ago, but gremlins got into the system.

So here it is – dubby excursion featuring Woob, Bill Laswell, the Sabre of Paradise… and James. Yes, the indie band. True story…

James vs The Sabres of Paradise – Jam J (excerpt 1) from “Jam J” (Fontana)

The Sabres of Paradise – Clock Factory from “Sabresonic II” (Warp)

James vs The Sabres of Paradise – Jam J (excerpt 2) from “Jam J” (Fontana)

Woob – Pondlife from “EP1” (Woob)

Automaton (Bill Laswell) -The Terran Invasion of Alpha Centauri from “Dub Terror Exhaust” (Strata)

E.A.R. – Hydroponic from the compilation “A Brief History of Ambient vol. 4” (Virgin)

Musicality on the mix 2011 – episode 6

This week we smash together electro-pop, techno, free-jazz, post-rock and some classic guitar noodling from the Duritti Column. Of note is two tracks from a new 7” single from young Canadian producer The Parish of Little Clifton.

Below, as always you can find links to legal free download of many of these tracks for your enjoyments.

Stanislav Tolkachev – Rudiment 4 from "Rudiment" (Funque Droppings)
The Parish of Little Clifton – It’s Okay, Roseanne from the 7" "Septemberish" (Bad Panda)
Depeche Mode – Photographic (Some Bizzare Verion) from "Singles 8185" (Mute)
Radiant Dragon – Terminal from "Terminal" (Cloud Factory/Independent)
Mark McGuire – Get Lost from “Living With Yourself” (Editions Mego)
Touch People – Depth Of Width Part 1 from “Show Me Your Dimensions” (Illegal Art)
Class Actress – Weekend from "Rapprocher" (Carpark)
The Parish of Little Clifton – Echo Island from the 7" "Septemberish" (Bad Panda)
Durutti Column – Lips That Would Kiss from "The Return of The Durutti Column" (Factory)
Radiant Dragon – Preseli from free download (Cloud Factory/Independent)
Sleep Over – Romantic Streams (Damu Remix) original from "Forever" (Hippos In Tanks)
Gel Set – U-lock In My Hand from free download (Omen)
Blondes (Sam Haar and Zach Steinman) – Beside You recorded live at the Easy Not Easy Festival (Independent)
Mint Julep – Aviary (Mogwai Remix) from free download (Independent)

Musicality on the Mix 2011–Ep 5

This week a gem of a 13 minute sonic experiment Röyksopp has made available to their fans to whet their appetites between albums. Orbiting this epic comes manipulated music from Vietnam and Indonesia, post-punk from The Fall and Wire, the latest song from Cat Martino, and some dubsteppiness in the middle. Enjoy…

The Fall – Paranoia Man In Cheap Shit Room from “The Infotainment Scan” (Permanent)
Wire – 23 Years Too Late (Radio Edit) from “Read & Burn 03” (Pink Flag)
The Orb – Kiss Your Love from “Ultra Rare Trax” (O.R.B.)
Tjutjuna – Songer Dance from the split cassette with Woodman “The Woodman / Tjutjuna Tour Split” (Independent)
How to Dress Well – Suicide Dream 2 (Holy Other Remix) original from the EP “Just Once”  (Love Letters Ink)
M Dubs/Lady Saw – Bump ‘N’ Grind from the single “Bump ‘n’ Grind” (Telstar)
Quenombre – Asdasd from free download (dublab)
Röyksopp – Shores Of Easy from free download (Independent)
Cat Martino – Yr Not Alone (feat. Sufjan Stevens) from “Yr Not Alone” (Independent)
Brufurd Levin Upper Extremitie – Etude Revisited from “B.L.U.E.” (Discipline Global Mobile)
Zoo – Bambu Runcing from the compilation “Jogja Istimewa” (Xeroxed)