Musicality 2011 – Episode 6

This week a round-up of some new releases, plus some tour news.

We’ll hear some new electronica from Austrian producer Herwig Holzmann aka Photophob, and Scottish producer Krowne, more from the newly release self-titled album from Seefeel, and a track from the long-awaited new album of enviro-ambient artist Macaw.

We’ll also take some sample-driven pop from the Berg Sans Nipple and the soon to tour Go Team, plus we celebrate the reformation of Electrelane.

The Berg Sans Nipple – Change the Shape from “Build With Erosion” (Team Love)

Photophob – Backyard Prophet from “Urban Dialectics” (Laridae)

Shackleton – Deadman (King Midas Sound Death Dub) from the EP Deadman (Honest Jons)

Krowne – Quantum Living (feat. Texture) from the EP “Quantum Living” (Black Lantern)

Seefeel – rip-run from “Seefeel” (Warp)

Macaw – What Circle Where from “Celadon” (Sockets Records)

‘O’Rang – Little Sister from the compilation “A Brief History of Ambient 4: Isolationism” (Virgin)

The Go Team – T.O.R.N.A.D.O. from “Rolling Blackouts” ()

The Berg Sans Nipple – Convert The Measurement from “Build With Erosion” (Team Love)

MF Doom – Cellz from “Born Like This” (Lex)

Electrelane – U.O.R from the compilation “Singles, B-Sides and Live” (Too Pure)

Atropolis f. Noelia Fernandez – Asi Asi Asi (Dutty Artz)

Related Links:

Musicality Blog


Dutty Artz

Sockets Records

Team Love


Musicality 2011 – Episode 5 – Music Round Up

Musicality 2011 – Episode 5 – Music Round Up

This week we look at a clutch of new releases including electronica from Japan and Scotland, ambient rock from Ukraine and Boston’s Damon and Naomi. Plus a bunch of post-punk releases: new Gang of Four, Scritti Politti compiled, and The Fall re-issued. We close with a couple of the acts announced for the the Melbourne Internation Jazz Festival in June.

The Fall – Couldn’t Get Ahead from the newly reissued album “This Nations Saving Grace” (Beggars Banquet)

Mitoma – Debris from “Interstellar Debris” (Section 27)

Cheapshot – Ieyasu from “zOMG!!” (8bitpeople)

Melting Clouds – Found Light from the EP “Found Light” (Clinical Archives)

Scritti Politti – Skank Bloc Bologna from the compilation “Absolute” (Virgin)

Gang of Four – I Found That Essence Rare from “Entertainment!” (EMI)

Gang Of Four –You’ll Never Pay For The Farm from “Content” (Yep Roc)

Damon & Naomi – Walking Backwards from “False Beats and True Hearts” (20/20/20)

Galaxie 500 – 4th of July from “This Is Our Music” (Rough Trade)

Ellery Eskelin, Andrea Parkins and Jim Black – 43 RPM from “Arcanum Moderne” (Hatology)

Sonny Rollins – Strode Rode from “Saxophone Collosus” (Prestige)


Melbourne International Jazz Festival

Damon and Naomi – download Walking Backwards for free from the offician D&M site.

Gang of Four – download You’ll Never Pay For The Farm for free from the official GofF site


8bitpeoples – home of Cheapshot and other free downloads of dinky electronic joy

Section 27 – free downloads of Mitoma and albums by other electronic artists

Clinical Archives – free downloads of the Melting Clouds EP and 500 other albums.

Musicality 2011 – Episode 4 – Sea Tales


This week we are heading to the seaside. Which means songs about sailors, shipwrecks and sea creatures. The ocean has influenced musicians as long as humans started a relationship with the seaside.

Considering the length of this relationship, it is somehow appropriate the one of the first pieces of music considered modern music, Claude Debussy’s La Mer, is a textural representation of the sea. That idea of representing the sea by using the texture of sounds rather than melody is reflected in this weeks episode by the French electro-acoustic group Zreen Toys, industrial group Nurse With Wound and composer (with a jazzy streak) Philip Clemo.

We’ll also take a more traditional route, with sea shanties from The Pogues and Robin Williamson, while Tom Waits, Stevin Merritt (The 6ths though more famously known for the Magnetic Fields) and Robert Wyatt gives us the human side of going over the ocean.

Needless to say Thomas Fehlmann and Mr Scruff just be silly.

Zreen Toys – Water Landscapes from the album “Aesthetically Nebulous” (Clinical Archives)

Robert Wyatt – Shipbuilding from the single “Shipbuilding” (Rough Trade)

Tom Waits – Shore Leave from “Swordfishtrombone” (Island)

The 6ths – The Sailor In Love With The Sea from “Hyacinths and Thistles” (Merge)

Thomas Fehlmann – I Wanna Be A Fishy from “One to Three” (R&S)

Mr. Scruff – Shanty Town from “Keep It Unreal” (Ninja Tune)

The Pogues – Greenland Whale Fisheries (2:36)

George Henderson and Alastair Galbraith-Macquarie Island from the compilation “Killing Capitalism with Kindness” (Turbulance Records)

Robin Williamson – Sir Patrick Spens from “The Iron Stone” (ECM)

M Bentley – Piano Ship (Alternative Mix) (4:00)

Nurse With Wound – Salt Marie Celeste (extrack) from Salt Marie Celeste (United Diaries)

Philip Clemo – Depth (Edit) from “Ambiguous dialogues” (Metier Jazz)

The Go-Betweens – Surfing Magazines from “The Friends of Rachel Worth” (Jet Set)

Related Links

Clinical Archives net Label (home to Zreen Toys and other legally free downloadable albums)

Macquarie Island – The history of industry on the island

Greenland Whale Fisheries – Wiki entry on the history of the Sea Shanty and it’s various versions

Salt Marie Celeste – about the album

Musicality 2011 – Episode 3 – Food

No, not music about eating, but an Anglo-Norwegian duo of saxophonist Iain Ballamy and drummer Thomas Stronen. They have released the band’s sixth album,with guests trumpeter Nils Petter Molvaer and guitarist Christian Fennesz, which we are featuring this week.

We also have music from Stronen’s side project Humcrush, a pair of Ballamy’s previous groups and also Fennesz performing with Austrian improvisers Polwechel.

Food – Chiaera from “Quiet Inlet” (ECM)

Food – Freebonky from “Organic and GM Food” (Feral)

Humcrush – Hornswoggle from “Hornswoggle” (Rune Grammofon”

Food – Cirrina from “Quiet Inlet” (ECM)

Bill Bruford’s Earthworks – Downtown from “Dig?” (EG)

Loose Tubes – Excepting Suites From Strangers from “Open Letter” (EG)

Food – Tobiko from “Quiet Inlet” (ECM)

Polwechel & Fennesz – Framing X from “Wrapped Island” (Erstwhile)

Food – Becalmed from “Quiet Inlet” (ECM)

Musicality 2011 – Episode 2

This week we try and clarify one of those obscure genre names applied seemingly unconnected – Art Rock. How does the beats of The Juan Mclean (pictured) relate to Talking Heads, or King Crimson? Yet they have all been called Art Rock.

We’ll trace Art Rock from its Progressive Rock origins, through its 80s pop years and finally into the modern times.

The Juan Maclean – The Future Will Come from “Transition Transmission: 14 Tracks from the New Heroes of Art Rock” (Uncut)

King Crimson – Lament from “Starless and Bible Black” (E.G. Records)

Robert Wyatt – Little Red Robin Hood Hit the Road from “Rock Bottom” (Virgin)

Brian Eno – St. Elmo’s Fire from “Another Green World” (Island)

Peter Gabriel – Don’t Give Up from “So” (Virgin)

Flying Lotus – Computer Face/Pure Being from “Transition Transmission: 14 Tracks from the New Heroes of Art Rock” (Uncut)

Talking Heads – Crosseyed And Painless from “Remain In Light” (Sire)

Wire – Marooned from “Chairs Mussing” (Pink Flag)

Crass – Shaved Women from the single “Reality Asylum/Shaved Women” (CRASS1)

Caribou – Bowls from “Transition Tranmission: 14 Tracks from the New Heroes of Art Rock” (Uncut)

Ariel Pink’s Haunted Graffiti – Envelopes Another Day from “Transition Tranmission: 14 Tracks from the New Heroes of Art Rock” (Uncut)

Charlotte Gainsbourg – IRM  from “Transition Transmission: 14 Tracks from the New Heroes of Art Rock” (Uncut)

Related Links:

Uncut Magazine

Gibraltar Encyclopedia of Progressive Rock

Progressive Rock Genres


The Juan Maclean

(picture source)

King Crimson