Musicality 2011 – Episode 17

This week we’ll take Japanese-inspired beats from Nyolfen and The Present, take a lengthy psych excursion with Sun Araw, hear Brian Eno meet poetry and hear some classic haziness with Talk Talk.

We’ll also take a couple of tracks from the new solo album from Dirty Projectors bassist Nat Baldwin, filled with song and a free jazz vibe, and also a track from a new compilation of rarities from the Magnetic Field’s Stephin Merritt.

* all links are to legal downloads

Nyolfen – South Pole from “Four Poles” (Bunkai-Kei) (5:12)

Nat Baldwin – Weights from “People Changes” (Western Vinyl) (4:11)

Stephin Merritt – Forever and a Day from the rareties compilation “Obscurities” (Merge) (1:57)

Nat Baldwin – Lifted from “People Changes” (Western Vinyl) (5:47)

Talk Talk – Inheritance from “Spirit of Eden” (EMI) (5:24)

Rick Holland and Brian Eno – Imagine New Times from non-album free download to accompany “Drums Between the Bells” (Warp)- (4:25)

The Present – Battaki from free download (Independent) (4:16)

Innergaze – Shadow Disco from the 12″ “Shadow Disco” (100% Silk) (5:13)

Nyolfen – West Pole  from “Four Poles” (Bunkai-Kei) (4:06)

Sun Araw – Crete from “Ancient Romans” (Sun Ark) (9:30)

White Car – Empty City from Tombs of Transition (Independent) (4:37)

Related Links:

Musicality Blog


Live from Different Times

Musicality will be bringing you a season of live recordings. Some are available as free downloads thanks to the wonders of Creative Commons licensing and the broadcasters who embrace it. Others are from commercial releases.


We will start off this week with a couple of tracks from Arrington de Dionyso recorded on WFMU, and next week take in some Autechre on John Peel. Some weeks we’ll bring you a couple of tracks, others an entire set. The rest of each program will be a normal mix of new music and interesting oldies/oddities.

Musicality 2011–Episode 16: Duos

This week we look at the diversity of music only two musicians can make. We’ll hear from 5 guitarists, 5 bassists, some folk singers, a pair of sax players and synth tweakers, a drummer, a kora master, a turntablist and a harpist heard in different duos and different genres.

Djeli Moussa Diawara & Bob Brozman – Uncle Joe from “Ocean Blues” (Melodie)

Maddy Prior and June Tabor – Four Loom Weaver from “Silly  Sisters”

Richard Thompson + Danny Thompon – Saboteur from “Industry” (Hannibal)

Peter Brötzmann and Bill Laswell – Locomotive from “Low Life” (Charly UK)

Spring Heel Jack – Maroc from “Amassed” (Thirsty Ear)

Kieran Hebden and Steve Reid – Morning Prayer from “The Exchange Sessions vol 1” (Domino)

Charlie Haden – For Turiya from “Closeness” (A&M)

Jah Wobble – Just Me & Phil from “Five Beat” (30 Hertz)

Robert Fripp / Brian Eno – Wind of Water from “Evening Star” (EG)

Bill Frisell – Start from “In Line” (ECM)

Musicality 2011–Episode 15: Blaerg

This week we are featuring the latest EP for Ohio-based broken beat producer Blaerg, who produces crazy cut-up beats in the style of Funki Porcini or Squarepusher. We’ll also take more music from Laurel Halo, hear the latest projects from 90s electronica heroes Photek and Mark Pritchard (of Global Commications) and hear music influenced by the sounds of Mauritius and Indonesia.

BLÆRG – Serotonin Diode from “Everything Was Altered” (Bottle Imp Productions) (3:26)

Arrington de Dionyso’s Malaikat Dan Singa – Kerasukan from “Suara Naga” (K) (3:20)

BLÆRG – Self-Replicating Nanotech Faeries from “Everything Was Altered” (Bottle Imp Productions) (2:38)

Grimes – Vanessa from the split d’Eon/Grimes split “Darkbloom EP” (Hippos In Tanks) (5:26)

Photek – Slowburn from “Avalanche” (Photek Productions) (4:58)

Africa Hitech – Blen from free download (3:38)

Africa Hitech – Glangslap from “93 Million Miles” (Warp) (4:56) *free on sign up to band’s email list via Warp website.

Global Communications – 523 from “76:14” (Dedicated) (6:31)

Laurel Halo – Heuristic Gag Factor from “Antenna” (NNA Tapes) (3:40)

BLÆRG – Engrossed in Euphony from “Everything Was Altered” (Bottle Imp Productions) (3:42)

BLÆRG – Sumptuous Platitudes from “Everything Was Altered” (Bottle Imp Productions) (3:46)

Photek – Ni Ten Ichi Ryu (Riot Remix) from Soundcloud (Independent) (6:01)

Mo Kolours – Biddies from “Drum Talking” (One-Handed Music) (3:36)

Musicality 2011–Episode 14

A mixed bag this week as we hear from an ex-Bad Seed Mick Harvey, a current member of Hype Williams in Inga Copeland, and separately from a Sierra Leone singer Janka Nabayand his latter day backing band Skeletons. We’ll also hear from a new retrospective compilation from French post-punker Lizzy Mercier Descloux, and round out with an hour of traditional and urban Thai music mixed, sampled and rebuilt and cut down to under four minutes..

* links in playlist are to free legal downloads 

Lizzy Mercier Descloux – Hard-Boiled Babe from the best of compilation “From Heaven With Love” (ZE)

Bachelorette – Blanket from an upcoming album (Souterrain Transmissions)

Downliners Sekt – Locked Faces from “Meet The Decline” (Disboot)

Inga Copeland – Trample from free download (Indepdenent)

Laurel Halo – Zoo Hypothesis from “Antenna” (NNA Tapes)

Grimes – Heartbeats (Laurel Halo Remix) – original version from “Halfaxa” (Artbutus Records)

Janka Nabay – Eh Congo from the EP “Bubu King” (True Panther)

The Skeletons – Grandma from “People” (Crammed Discs/Sockets Records)

Mick Harvey – October Boy from “Sketches From The Book Of The Dead” (Mute)

Crime + the City Solution – The Coal Train from “Just South of Heaven” (Mute)

BLÆRG – Auspices And Vagaries from “Auspices and Vagaries” (Bottle Imp Productions)

Take – Face The Firing Squad – from “Dublab “Field Reports” Thailand” (Dublab)

Deerhoof – Midnight Bicycle Mystery from “The Runners Four” (Kill Rock Stars)

Related links:

Frosty’s “Fly Thai High” Mix – Dublab “Field Reports” Thailand