Musicality 2011 – Episode 17

This week we’ll take Japanese-inspired beats from Nyolfen and The Present, take a lengthy psych excursion with Sun Araw, hear Brian Eno meet poetry and hear some classic haziness with Talk Talk.

We’ll also take a couple of tracks from the new solo album from Dirty Projectors bassist Nat Baldwin, filled with song and a free jazz vibe, and also a track from a new compilation of rarities from the Magnetic Field’s Stephin Merritt.

* all links are to legal downloads

Nyolfen – South Pole from “Four Poles” (Bunkai-Kei) (5:12)

Nat Baldwin – Weights from “People Changes” (Western Vinyl) (4:11)

Stephin Merritt – Forever and a Day from the rareties compilation “Obscurities” (Merge) (1:57)

Nat Baldwin – Lifted from “People Changes” (Western Vinyl) (5:47)

Talk Talk – Inheritance from “Spirit of Eden” (EMI) (5:24)

Rick Holland and Brian Eno – Imagine New Times from non-album free download to accompany “Drums Between the Bells” (Warp)- (4:25)

The Present – Battaki from free download (Independent) (4:16)

Innergaze – Shadow Disco from the 12″ “Shadow Disco” (100% Silk) (5:13)

Nyolfen – West Pole  from “Four Poles” (Bunkai-Kei) (4:06)

Sun Araw – Crete from “Ancient Romans” (Sun Ark) (9:30)

White Car – Empty City from Tombs of Transition (Independent) (4:37)

Related Links:

Musicality Blog


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s